Johannesburg, 11 November 2022: Montauk Renewables (JSE: MKR) has claimed top spot at the annual Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Awards that were held in Johannesburg on 10 November in Parktown. Overall, the mining sector continued to perform well, with 9 out of the top 10 positions on the prestigious list being held by mining companies. Impala Platinum Holdings (JSE: IMP) and Royal Bafokeng Platinum (JSE: RBP) placed second and third respectively.

For the fourth year in a row, BCX was the headline partner for the prestigious Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Awards – an event that is a highlight on the South African business calendar. The gala dinner, hosted by Gugulethu Mfuphi included welcomes by Sunday Times editor S’thembiso Msomi and BCX CEO Jonas Bogoshi, as well as a performance by the acclaimed Ndlovu Youth Choir.

To qualify for the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies, JSE-listed companies are required to hold a minimum market capitalisation of R5 billion as of 31 August 2022, with winners determined by the highest returns for their shareholders over a five-year period, based on a theoretical initial investment of R10,000.

Montauk Renewables’ 5-year compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 56,22% for the period from 1 September 2017 to 31 August 2022, means that R10,000 invested in 2017 would have delivered R93,049 in 2022.

Impala Platinum Holdings realised an annual CAGR of 39,89% to deliver R53,570, while Royal Bafokeng Platinum returned R52,719 with a CAGR of 39.44% over the same 5-year period.

Leadership awards

The Business Leader of the Year Award acknowledges those who have made a significant contribution to the South African economy and is decided by CEOs of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies from the previous year.

This year Andrew Kirby, Toyota South Africa CEO and President was celebrated by industry peers, recognising his leadership particularly following the devastation of the KZN floods this year.  Kirby joins an elite list of former recipients including Adrian Gore, Michael Brown, Lesetja Kganyago, Pravin Gordhan, Dr Johan van Zyl, Dr Michael Jordaan, Gerrie Fourie and Phuthuma Nhleko, amongst others.

Gloria Serobe, founder of Wiphold and chairperson of the Solidarity Fund, was this year’s recipient of the Lifetime Achiever Award.

The award is decided by a high-profile independent panel, recognising an individual that consistently contributes to the South African economy. Serobe is the first female recipient and joins an exclusive group of previous Lifetime Achiever Award recipients including Jabu Mabuza, Jacko Maree, Adrian Gore, Dr Patrice Motsepe, Dr Johann Rupert, Dr Bobby Godsell, Brian Joffe, Former President Nelson Mandela, amongst others.

BCX Innovation Award winners

The winners of the fourth BCX Digital Innovation Awards were also announced the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Awards event.

The BCX Digital Innovation Awards ‘honour South African organisations that have taken up the flag to transform their businesses through technological advancements and digital transformation.’

Winners in the Corporate and SME categories are:


  • 3rd place – iiDENTIFii – Facial Biometric Digital Authentication Platform
  • 2nd place – ShopriteX – Checkers Xtra Savings 60Sixty Integration
  • 1st place – Discovery Bank – Shared Value in Banking


  • 3rd place – Acumen Software – My Smart City
  • 2nd place – Envisionit Deep AI – RADIFY
  • 1st place – Ctrl Technologies – Creating Digital Insurance Advisors

The results of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies will be published in the newspaper on 13 November 2022.