The winners of the 47th annual Financial Mail Top Analyst awards in partnership with Iress and the JSE, were announced at an awards function hosted on 23 May 2023 at The Atrium at the JSE in Sandton. The annual awards recognise South Africa’s top analysts in the institutional stockbroking industry.

Estimated to cover more than 90% of the market, the Financial Mail Ranking the Analyst survey – conducted by Intellidex – ranks analysts and firms across 40 research categories through confidential questionnaires completed by their domestic institutional clients.

Speakers at the event included Financial Mail editor Rob Rose, Intellidex Chair Stuart Theobald, Shaun Nicholson from Iress, and Langa Manqele from the JSE.

In 2023 a total of 380 analysts and teams were nominated by 30 sell-side firms, with another 50 names entered by buy-side firms as nominees. There were 12 new award winners this year.

Standard Bank SBG Securities was awarded as the Overall Research Firm winner.

2023 category winners are:

BanksCharles Russell and Abonga MvovuStandard Bank SBG Securities
Beverages & TobaccoRey WiumStandard Bank SBG Securities
CommoditiesThabang Thlaku, Tim Clark, Adrian Hammond and teamStandard Bank SBG Securities
Computing & ElectronicsIrnest KaplanKaplan Equity Analysts
Construction, Building Materials & MachineryRowan GoellerChronux Research
Credit AnalysisRobyn MacLennan, Steffen Kriel and Latisha NunanStandard Bank SBG Securities
DerivativesEmlyn Flint, Florence Chikurunhe and Luke van SchaikPeresec
Diversified IndustrialsJames TwymanPrescient Securities
Economic analysis (domestic)Elna MoolmanStandard Bank SBG Securities
Economic analysis (international)Mary Curtis, Andrea Masia and Ian DoyleRMB Morgan Stanley
Environmental, social and governanceWaseem Thokan and Rob Worthington-SmithPeresec
Financial and industrial small & medium market cap companiesAnthony Clark@SmallTalkDaily Research
Fixed-Interest SecuritiesMike Keenan and Nikolaus GeromontAbsa CIB
Food ProducersSumil SeerajStandard Bank SBG Securities
Forestry & PaperJames TwymanPrescient Securities
General FinancialWarwick Bam and Sabena OmarAvior Capital Markets
General MiningTim Clark and Thabang ThlakuStandard Bank SBG Securities
General RetailersSean HolmesRMB Morgan Stanley
Gold MiningAdrian HammondStandard Bank SBG Securities
Healthcare Providers & PharmaceuticalsDr Anuja JoshiStandard Bank SBG Securities
Hotels, Travel & LeisureIan Doyle and Jamie PeggRMB Morgan Stanley
Household Goods RetailersYa’eesh PatelStandard Bank SBG Securities
Industrial MetalsThabang Thlaku and Tim ClarkStandard Bank SBG Securities
Innovative researchNavigare LabsNavigare Securities
InsuranceMichael ChristelisUBS South Africa
International equitiesIan Doyle and Jamie PeggRMB Morgan Stanley
International non-equitiesJibran Qureishi, Mulalo Madula, Fausio Mussa & TeamStandard Bank SBG Securities
Investment CompaniesRey WiumStandard Bank SBG Securities
Investment StrategyMary CurtisRMB Morgan Stanley
Luxury GoodsRey WiumStandard Bank SBG Securities
MediaKevin MattisonAvior Capital Markets
Oil & Gas and ChemicalsGerhard EngelbrechtAbsa CIB
Platinum & Precious MetalsChristopher NicholsonRMB Morgan Stanley
Political analysisSimon FreemantleStandard Bank SBG Securities
Quantitative AnalysisJosiah RudolphAnchor Stockbrokers
Real EstateFrancois du Toit, Yesh Pillay, Lwando Ngubentombi and Craig SmithAnchor Stockbrokers
Resources Small & Medium Market Cap CompaniesTim Clark, Thabang Thlaku, Adrian Hammond and teamStandard Bank SBG Securities
Risk ManagementEmlyn Flint, Florence Chikurunhe and Luke van SchaikPeresec
Technical AnalysisTricia LunenburgPeresec
TelecommunicationsNiel Venter and Jono BradleyAbsa CIB

To view the Full Ranking the Analyst Supplement eEdition please
click here.

Image source: pexels-tima-miroshnichenk